Roland-Garros 2022: Who are the former singles winners at Roland-Garros?

As one of the four Grand Slam tournaments, the French Open is a tournament that every tennis player dreams of winning.

The annual clay-court event in Paris attracts top players and never fails to deliver drama.

Novak Djokovic and Barbara Krejcikova are the defending men’s and women’s singles champions, but there have been many more over the years.

Who are the former winners of Roland-Garros in men’s singles? Full List of All Open Era Champions

While Djokovic ended Nadal’s streak of five consecutive Roland Garros in 2021, the Spaniard is the undisputed king of clay having won it 13 times.

Before Nadal, Swedish legend Bjorn Borg was the most successful player having won the tournament six times in the space of eight years.

Spain have had the most success in men’s singles of the Open era with the title won 19 times by a Spaniard.

Year Winner
2021 Novak Djokovic
2020 Rafael Nadal
2019 Rafael Nadal
2018 Rafael Nadal
2017 Rafael Nadal
2016 Novak Djokovic
2015 Stan Wawrinka
2014 Rafeal Nadal
2013 Rafael Nadal
2012 Rafael Nadal
2011 Rafael Nadal
2010 Rafael Nadal
2009 Roger Federer
2008 Rafael Nadal
2007 Rafael Nadal
2006 Rafael Nadal
2005 Rafael Nadal
2004 Gaston Gaudio
2003 Juan Carlos Ferrero
2002 Albert Costa
2001 Gustavo Kuerten
2000 Gustavo Kuerten
1999 Andre Agassi
1998 carlos moya
1997 Gustavo Kuerten
1996 Yevgeny Kafelnikov
1995 Thomas Muster
1994 Sergi Bruguera
1993 Sergi Bruguera
1992 Jim Courier
1991 Jim Courier
1990 Andres Gomez
1989 Michael Chang
1988 Mats Wilander
1987 Ivan Lendl
1986 Ivan Lendl
1985 Mats Wilander
1984 Ivan Lendl
1983 Yannick Noe
1982 Mats Wilander
nineteen eighty one Bjorn Borg
1980 Bjorn Borg
1979 Bjorn Borg
1978 Bjorn Borg
1977 Guillermo Vilas
1976 Adrian Panatta
1975 Bjorn Borg
1974 Bjorn Borg
1973 IInd Nastase
1972 Andres Gimeno
1971 Jan Kodes
1970 Jan Kodes
1969 Rod Laver
1968 Ken Rosewall

Who are the former winners of Roland-Garros in ladies’ singles? Full List of All Open Era Champions

Barbora Krejcikova is the defending French Open women’s singles champion and was the second unseeded player in as many years to win the tournament.

American Chris Evert is the tournament’s most successful woman with seven titles to her name.

The Americans have historically dominated the event and seen a champion crowned 15 times – 10 more than the second-best Australian.

Year Winner
2021 Barbora Krejcikova
2020 Iga Swiatek
2019 Ashley Barty
2018 Simona Halep
2017 Jelena Ostapenko
2016 Garbine Muguruza
2015 Serena Williams
2014 Maria Sharapova
2013 Serena Williams
2012 Maria Sharapova
2011 Li Na
2010 Fransesca Schiavone
2009 Svetlana Kuznetsova
2008 Ana Ivanovic
2007 Justine Henin
2006 Justine Henin
2005 Justine Henin
2004 Anastasia Myskina
2003 Justine Henin
2002 Serena Williams
2001 Jennifer Capriati
2000 Mary Pierce
1999 Steffi Graf
1998 Arantxa Sanchez Vicario
1997 Iva Majoli
1996 Steffi Graf
1995 Steffi Graf
1994 Arantxa Sanchez Vicario
1993 Steffi Graf
1992 Monica Seles
1991 Monica Seles
1990 Monica Seles
1989 Arantxa Sanchez Vicario
1988 Steffi Graf
1987 Steffi Graf
1986 Chris Evert
1985 Chris Evert
1984 Martina Navratilova
1983 Chris Evert
1982 Martina Navratilova
nineteen eighty one Hana Mandlikova
1980 Chris Evert
1979 Chris Evert
1978 Virginia Ruzici
1977 Mima Jausovec
1976 Sue Barker
1975 Chris Evert
1974 Chris Evert
1973 Court of Margaret
1972 Billie Jean King
1971 Evonne Goolagong
1970 Court of Margaret
1969 Court of Margaret
1968 Nancy Richey

Who are the youngest and oldest winners of Roland-Garros?

Monica Seles is the youngest player to win the French Open when she did so at the age of 16 years and six months in 1990.

The teenager beat Steffi Graf in straight sets and will win the next two Roland-Garros tournaments.

At the other end of the age spectrum, Andrés Gimeno was the dean of the Roland-Garros champions when he triumphed in 1972 at the age of 34 years and 10 months.

It was Gimeno’s only Grand Slam win after also making the Australian Open final in 1969.

If Nadal wins the men’s singles title in 2022, he will replace Gimeno as the oldest player to become champion, with the Spaniard due to turn 36 on June 3.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

%d bloggers like this: