BCCI set to reintroduce Duleep Trophy and Irani Cup


The Duleep Trophy and the Irani Cup are set for a comeback.

The Duleep Trophy and the Irani Cup are set for a comeback. ©AFP

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) will reintroduce the Duleep Trophy into the national calendar this year. The competition, last held three years ago in 2019, will return to the zonal system format. It will be held from September 8 and will continue until September 25.

The decision was taken at the Apex Council meeting held in Mumbai on Thursday, July 21. A total of five knockout matches will feature in matches to be played between the five BCCI zones.

The Irani Cup, the traditional five-day one-off match held between the Ranji Trophy champions and the rest of India, is also back on the schedule. The match could not be played for two years due to the pandemic. It will be held from October 1 to 5 and the location is yet to be determined. As the defending champions of Ranji, Madhya Pradesh will be one of the teams competing in the game.

Among other key decisions made during the lengthy meeting was the finalization of fixtures for the 2022-23 season with the main focus on the Ranji Trophy, which begins on December 13. The league phase will run until January 28 and the round of 16 will take place from February. 1 to 28. The BCCI has selected three options for the first-class tournament and it will be spread over a period of more than four months, 126 days to be precise.

Other national tournaments that will take place this year are Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy (T20) – from October 11 to November 22, Vijay Hazare Trophy (One Day) – from November 12 to December 2, Men’s U25 One Day competition – from November 20 to December 10, Col CK Nayudu Trophy (several days) – from January 1 to March 23, Vinoo Mankad Trophy (one day) – from October 7 to 23, Cooch Behar Trophy (several days) – from November 5 to January 3 and Vijay Merchant Trophy U16 (multi-day) – from December 1 to January 20.

Senior Women’s T20 Trophy will be from October 11 to November 5, Inter Zonal Senior Women’s T20 – from November 8 to 15, Challenger Trophy Senior Women’s T20 – from November 20 to 26, Senior Women’s One-Day Trophy – from January 18 to February 7 , Inter Zonal Women Seniors One-Day – from February 12 to 21, Women’s T20 U23 Trophy – from February 3 to 23, Women’s One-Day U23 Trophy – from February 26 to March 18, Women’s T20 U19 Trophy – from October 1 to 17 , Women’s U19 T20 Challenger Trophy – November 1-7, Women’s U19 One-Day Trophy – December 7-23 and Women’s U-16 One-Day Trophy – December 26-January 3.

International fixtures against South Africa and Australia

The BCCI has also finalized the venues for the bilateral matches to be played in India in September and October, when South Africa and Australia travel to the country for a series of white ball matches. The three T20Is against Australia will take place on September 20, 23 and 25 in Mohali, Nagpur and Hyderabad. The three T20Is against South Africa are in Thiruvananthapuram, Guwahati and Indore on September 28, October 1 and 3. The three ODIs against Proteas, which will be part of the ICC ODI Super League, will be in Ranchi, Lucknow and Delhi on October 6. 9 and 11. This series was postponed in March 2020 due to the pandemic.

Asian Cup moved to United Arab Emirates

As Cricbuzz reported earlier, the 2022 edition of the Asian Cup, which was supposed to be held in Sri Lanka, has been moved to the United Arab Emirates. Sourav Ganguly, the president of BCCI, confirmed the venue change after the Apex Council meeting. “The Asian Cup will be held in the United Arab Emirates because it’s the only place where there won’t be any rain,” he said.

© Cricbuzz

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

%d bloggers like this: